August 17, 2015

5 Tracks you need to hear from Dr. Dre's : Compton Album.


2015 has been a brilliant year for Hip hop with amazing albums/mixtapes dropping, as Dre delivers his highly anticipated album/the 'Straight Outta Compton' movie soundtrack. So when I tell you highly anticipated, I don't mean 'Detox', sorry not just yet Dre. Heads, I'm talking we haven't heard an album come from the Doctor's laboratory in over a decade and a half! It's filled with artists from the 'new gen' linked up with rap legends from the likes of Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Xzibit and The Game.     


With Compton following up his 1999 album '2001' Dr. Dre has in fact announced that this will be his last album which has been inspired by the West-coast rap group, N.W.A and it's movement, thus the movie which is due to released in cinemas as of Friday 14th August 2015. So if he really is hanging up his gloves, here are the 5 tracks you need to hear after a trailer 'Intro' which depicts black people's suburban american dream, slowly deteriorating through crime and low economic growth as a result of Compton's integration with it's inner city.   

Track 2. Talk About It (Featuring King Mez and Justus) 

This firstly is just a straight up firecracker, very smooth and catchy hook, good delivery throughout and the production just shows that Dre. doesn't miss a beat


Track 4. It's All on Me (Featuring Justus and BJ the Chicago Kid)

Starts off with that 'Outkast' feel to it and leads onto a familiar West-Coast sung chorus. Right down my alley!  


Track 9. Deep Water (Featuring Kendrick Lamar, Justus and Anderson .Paak) 

You immediately hear the attempts of a male gasping for air and screaming for help as if to say he's drowning in the 'deep water's of Compton with verses from Dre. Dre and Kendrick Lamar hitting-hard, detailing the consumption of life through it's harsh realities in a city where your choices can be limited by your surroundings. I'm assuming this skit could potentially be a scene in the movie, so have a listen to the album to find out the troubled man's fate.      



Track 15. Medicine Man (Featuring Eminem, Candice Pillay and Anderson .Paak)

I won't even spoil it... you see Dre, you see Em, need I say more?


Track 16. Talking to My Diary

Always nice to hear Dre spit that realness as he reminiscences on when life was normal with his boys (Cube and Eazy-E) on the come up together, in comparison to his current state of city view living earned through hard work that had an amazing influential touch for the rap & hip hop culture today.   



Track Listing: 

1. Intro

2. Talk About It (Featuring King Mez and Justus)

3. Genocide (Featuring Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius and Candice Pillay)

4. It's All on Me (Featuring Justus and BJ the Chicago Kid)

5. All in a Day's Work (Featuring Anderson .Paakand Marsha Ambrosius)

6. Darkside / Gone (Featuring King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius and Kendrick Lamar) 

7. Loose Cannons (Featuring Xzibit and Cold 187um)

8. Issues (Featuring Ice Cube and Anderson .Paak)

9. Deep Water (Featuring Kendrick Lamar, Justus and Anderson .Paak)

10. One Shot One Kill (Performed by Jon Connorfeaturing Snoop Dogg) 

11. Just Another Day (Performed by The Gamefeaturing Asia Bryant)

12. For the Love of Money (Featuring Jill Scott and Jon Connor)

13. Satisfiction (Featuring Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius and King Mez)

14. Animals (Featuring Anderson .Paak)

15. Medicine Man (Featuring Eminem, Candice Pillay and Anderson .Paak)

16. Talking to My Diary




HUGO - INSTAGRAM: @hugoinlondres              SOUNDCLOUD: @hugoinlondon


Please reload

Follow TreeHouse
Featured Posts

“SOMEONE’S GOTTA DO IT”: Local Creative Propels Boundaries of the DMV Artist Community

December 15, 2016

Please reload

Recent Posts

September 26, 2016

August 31, 2016

Please reload

  • SoundCloud - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle