Review : Future - Dirty Sprite 2

August 3, 2015

Mr March Madness proves yet again that "the music way ahead of its time and I notice this" as Future visits his original sound from his early mixtape projects to intertwine with his most current overground sound which was illustrated in his previous album 'Honest'. 


Dirty Sprite 2 (DS2) differentiates from 'Honest' with tracks that are a lot more turnt up and are rave scene fitted, whereas 'Honest' as an album greatly highlights Future's progression, but for me suited a commercial audience and wasn't as hard hitting with single's like 'I Won' an example compared to 'F*ck Up Some Commas'. That's not the Future I Know. DS2 is a very entertaining album and can be listened to without really having the desire to change to the next song unless you want to go from one shot of adrenaline to another.  



So with Projects like 'Astronaut Status, Dirty Sprite, True Story and his first album Pluto, any early Future Fan would understand that ohhh, 'Monster, Beast Mode and 56 Nights' represent the sound that gave Future his astronaut status that led to his rise and domination in Atlanta's night life with his music being played every night.        


Future's work rate is second to none in his lane and DS2 has clearly been an addition to his collection of projects saturated strictly with hits. Where Future is in terms of his life and returning to this avenue of making music for strippers to Twerk to, is where the heart of his best music lies in my view simply because of his lifestyle and the hunger to make a banger is back. Like he said “they tried to make him a popstar and they made a monster”... “Who’s trying to make hits”


As a whole Dirty Sprite 2's contribution to my summer playlist has been much appreciated and deserves a 7/10 for me, bearing in mind that his earlier project's production is preferred, the album would be enjoyed more with a few less tracks as there is only one vibe throughout and the inclusion of 'March Madness', because let's be honest that song's too litt to drop out. 




Personal Favourites:

Rich Sex

Blow A Bag

Blood On The Money

Where Ya At Ft. Drake

Kno The Meaning


First  Week Sales: 151,000 


Track Listing:

1. Thought It Was A Drought 

2. I Serve The Base

3. Where Ya At (Featuring Drake)

4. Groupies

5. Lil One

6. Stick Talk

7. Freak Hoe

8. Rotation

9. Slave Master

10. Blow A Bag

11. Colossal 

12. Rich Sex

13. Blood On The Money

14. Trap Ni**as

15. The Percocet & Stripper Joint

16. Real Sisters

17. Kno The Meaning

18. F*ck Up Some Commas 



HUGO - INSTAGRAM: @hugoinlondres              SOUNDCLOUD: @hugoinlondon


Please reload

Follow TreeHouse
Featured Posts

“SOMEONE’S GOTTA DO IT”: Local Creative Propels Boundaries of the DMV Artist Community

December 15, 2016

Please reload

Recent Posts

September 26, 2016

August 31, 2016

Please reload

  • SoundCloud - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle